Presse-Information

Press release ¤ Information de presse

May 12, 2006

ACHEMA News: Europe Pooling Forces for Chemical Innovations and

· Key themes of the future: industrial biotechnology, materials, process engineering
· The energy-producing house and chemical raw materials from fields could soon be a reality

Dr. Alfred Oberholz, Chairman of DECHEMA e.V.,
Deputy Chairman of the Board of Management of Degussa AG, Düsseldorf
Plenary lecture, Messe Frankfurt CongressCenter, Room "Fantasie 2"
17 May 2006, 11.00 a.m.

With their Lisbon Declaration of 2000 the heads of states and governments of the EU member states set the goal to make Europe the most competitive and dynamic knowledge-based economic region. In order to promote, in particular, chemical research, development and innovation in Europe the technology platform "European Technology Platform for Sustainable Chemistry (SusChem)" was founded in 2004 on the joint initiative of Cefic, EuropaBio and the Research Directorate-General of the European Commission. SusChem will make a major contribution to this end and promote the most important R&D subjects of European chemistry in terms of innovation, competitiveness and sustainability within an international and European framework.

The strategic aims of this platform include strengthening the competitiveness of the chemical industry and of chemical and biotechnological research in Europe as well as satisfying society’s needs with respect to food, health, energy and materials, which can be met by sustainable chemistry.

Since then the best minds of European research and industry have met together in working groups to discuss and define the most important research aims. Under the title of "Innovation for a Better Future“ the results were adopted in the "Sustainable Chemistry Strategic Research Agenda 2005 (SRA)“ in November 2005 and presented to the public.

In his plenary lecture on Wednesday, 17 May, Dr. Alfred Oberholz, Chairman of the SusChem Board since August 2005, Chairman of DECHEMA and Deputy Chairman of the Board of Management of Degussa AG, will report on the progress of this important European technology programme, the cooperation between representatives from research and industry, and the new paths and prospects opening up in this field. “SusChem is a unique opportunity for the chemical and biotechnological community in Europe to pool its strengths and the challenges facing society“, emphasizes Oberholz.

SusChem's priorities include the technology areas of reaction and process design, materials technology and industrial biotechnology. Activities also focus on more general subjects such as education and training, framework conditions for cooperation between science and industry, safety aspects, regulation and venture capital.

The subjects selected by SusChem also need to be deeply anchored in the 7th Research Framework Programme of the EU (2007 –2013) to intensify the cross-linkage between European research promotion and national promotion instruments and improve the EU framework conditions for an innovatively-oriented chemical industry. SusChem is currently drafting an Implementation Action Plan specifying concrete measures and the resources necessary to implement the research topics outlined in the SRA. The budget requirements for this ambitious project are estimated to be about 5.5 billion euros, of which 1.8 billion will have to be financed from EU and member state subsidies.

For further information see: www.suschem.org

 

31

back to overview

© DECHEMA e.V. 1995-2019, Last update 30.09.2014

DECHEMA e.V.
Theodor-Heuss-Allee 25
60486 Frankfurt
Telefon (069) 7564-0
Telefax (069) 7564-201


Kontakt/Contact:
Dr. Kathrin Ruebberdt
Tel. +49 (0) 69 / 75 64 - 2 77
Fax +49 (0) 69 / 75 64 - 2 72
e-Mail:
Events
Become a member

Presse-Information

Press release ¤ Information de presse

12.05.2006

ACHEMA aktuell: Europa bündelt Kräfte für Chemieinnovationen und nachhaltige Entwicklung

· Die Zukunftsthemen: Industrielle Biotechnologie, Materialien, Prozeßtechnik
· Das energieerzeugende Haus und Chemierohstoffe vom Acker bald Realität

Dr. Alfred Oberholz, Vorsitzender der DECHEMA e.V.,
Stellv. Vorsitzender des Vorstands der Degussa AG, Düsseldorf
Plenarvortrag, CongressCenter Messe Frankfurt, Saal Fantasie 2
17. Mai 2006, 11.00 Uhr

Mit der Erklärung von Lissabon im Jahr 2000 haben die EU-Staats- und Regierungschefs das Ziel gesetzt, Europa zum wettbewerbsfähigsten und dynamischsten wissensbasierten Wirtschaftsraum zu entwickeln. Um insbesondere die chemische Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation in Europa zu fördern, wurde deshalb im Jahre 2004 auf gemeinsame Initiative von Cefic, EuropaBio und der Generaldirektion Forschung der Europäischen Kommission die Technologieplattform „European Technology Platform for Sustainable Chemistry (Sus­Chem)“ gegründet. SusChem will hierzu einen wesentlichen Beitrag leisten und im internationalen und europaweiten Konsens die wichtigsten F&E-Themen der europäischen Chemie unter dem Aspekt von Innovation, Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit fördern.

Zu den strategischen Zielen dieser Plattform gehören die Stärkung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der chemischen Industrie und der Chemie- und Biotechnologieforschung in Europa ebenso wie die Erfüllung der Bedürfnisse der Gesellschaft bezüglich Nahrung, Gesundheit, Energie oder Materialien, die durch eine nachhaltige Chemie erzielt werden können.

Die besten Köpfe aus Forschung und Industrie aus Europa haben sich seither in Arbeitsgruppen zusammengefunden, um die wichtigsten Forschungsziele zu diskutieren und zu definieren. Unter dem Titel „Innovation for a better Future“ wurden diese Ergebnisse in der „Sustainable Chemistry Strategic Research Agenda 2005 (SRA)“ im November 2005 verabschiedet und der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Dr. Alfred Oberholz, Vorsitzender des SusChem Boards seit August 2005, und zugleich Vorsitzender der DECHEMA und Stellv. Vorsitzender des Vorstands der Degussa AG, wird in seinem Plenarvortrag am Mittwoch, dem 17. Mai, über die Fortschritte dieses wichtigen europäischen Technologieprogrammes berichten und auch darüber, wie Vertreter aus Forschung und Industrie zusammenarbeiten und welche neuen Wege und Perspektiven sich hier eröffnen. „SusChem ist eine einzigartige Möglichkeit für die Chemie- und Biotechnologie-Community in Europa, ihre Stärken und künftigen Herausforderungen für die Gesellschaft zu bündeln“, bekräftigt Oberholz.

Schwerpunkte bei SusChem bilden die Technologiebereiche Reaktions- und Prozessdesign, Materialien und Industrielle Biotechnologie. Gleichzeitig sollen übergreifende Themen wie Bildung und Ausbildung, Rahmenbedingungen für Kooperationen von Wissenschaft und Industrie, Sicherheitsaspekte, Regulierung und Venture Capital behandelt werden.

Die von SusChem ausgewählten Themen sollen eine starke Verankerung im 7. Forschungsrahmenprogramm der EU (2007 – 2013) erfahren und dazu beibeitragen, die europäische Forschungsförderung künftig noch intensiver mit den nationalen Förderinstrumenten zu vernetzen sowie die EU-Rahmenbedingungen für eine innovationsfreudige Chemie zu verbessern. Derzeit erarbeitet SusChem einen Implementation Action Plan, in dem konkrete Maßnahmen und deren Ressourcenbedarf festgelegt werden, die zur Realisierung der in der Strategischen Forschungsagenda (SRA) definierten Forschungsthemen notwendig sind. Für dieses ehrgeizige Projekt wird ein Budgetbedarf von rund 5,5 Mrd. € geschätzt, von denen 1,8 Mrd. auf Fördermittel der EU und der Mitgliedsstaaten entfallen müssten.

Weitere Informationen: www.suschem.org

31

zurück zur Übersicht

© DECHEMA e.V. 1995-2016, Last update 30.09.2014

DECHEMA e.V.
Theodor-Heuss-Allee 25
60486 Frankfurt
Telefon (069) 7564-0
Telefax (069) 7564-201


Kontakt/Contact:
Dr. Kathrin Ruebberdt
Tel. +49 (0) 69 / 75 64 - 2 77
Fax +49 (0) 69 / 75 64 - 2 72
e-Mail:
Veranstaltungen
Jetzt Mitglied werden