22. International Biohydrometallurgy Symposium


The beautiful little town Freiberg in the middle of Saxony is famous for the connection between tradition and modernism. The original city was built around 1162 and since then an extremely rich town due to the discovery of silver-containing lead ores emerged. In 1765 the Technical University Bergakademie Freiberg was founded and until today its one of the oldest mining universities in the world. Visiting Freiberg gives you the chance to discover the historic city center with stunning architectures which have been placed under heritage conservation (proposed for UNESCO World Heritage Site).

How to get there

By car:
From Frankfurt, Munich, Berlin, Dresden, Leipzig, Chemnitz use the freeway A4 and take the exit Siebenlehn, direction Freiberg on the B 101. From Prague use the freeway A17 and take the exit Kesselsdorf, direction Freiberg on the B 173.

By train:
From Dresden take a train to Nürnberg Hbf or Zwickau Hbf and get off in Freiberg. From Chemnitz take a train to Dresden Hbf and get off in Freiberg. From Leipzig take at first a train to Chemnitz main station and from there a train to Dresden, get off in Freiberg.

By plane:
Three airports are close to Freiberg: Dresden, Leipzig or Berlin (from Berlin take the train to Dresden or Leipzig).

Tourist Information

Tourist-Information Freiberg
Burgstraße 1
09599 Freiberg

Telefon: 03731/ 273 664
Fax: 03731/ 273 665

Cultural highlights in Freiberg

Freudenstein castle and Terra mineralia

The historical Freudenstein castle was also built in 1168 for protection of the silver mines. Today it is a modern redecorated architecture that possesses about 3.500 minerals, gemstones and meterorites. The „Terra Mineralia“ is a permanent exhibition of the TU Bergakademie Freiberg and private collectors and provides treasures from very famous places in Europe, Asia, Africa, and the United States of America. For sure this is a real highlight for Freiberg visitors.


Dome Freiberg Sankt Marien

The „Freiberger Dom Sankt Marien“ was built in the 12th century as the „Marien Church“. In 1480 pope Sixtus IV raised the church to the dome status. The dome is famous for its golden entry („Goldene Pforte (1225)“), as well as two Silbermann organs from the 18th century. A similar organ is present in the Dresdner Frauenkirche. Part of the dome was burned down during a great town fire but was reconstructed in 1484. Today the dome is a great town landmark and is another indication for the richness of the silver mining city Freiberg.


Research mine „Reiche Zeche“

The „Himmelfahrt depository“ depicts a former ore mine in Freiberg and is part of the UNESCO World Heritage mining region Erzgebirge. The Bergakademie is using the shafts „Reiche Zeche“ and „Alte Elisabeth“ as research and science mines. The ore pit which is located under the whole city centre of Freiberg offers routes of about 230 m depth and 14 km length in total. The pit has a temperature about 10°C and shows old shafts, stalactites, and sinters. It is your chance to discover those old shafts, in stone carved year dates and ore deposits. And as a highlight this pit is one of our sources of iron oxidizing bacteria.


Jetzt Mitglied werden