Gemeinsame Fachgruppe Chemische Biologie

(Information in Deutsch: Gemeinsame Fachgruppe Chemische Biologie)

The elucidation and modulation of molecular biological processes, including the interactions and functions of proteins, by employing 'chemical probes' (i.e. mostly small molecules) is the principal task of Chemical Biology.
Chemical Biology research adopts modern methods like computer-aided design or parallel synthesis, as well as latest screening technologies to identify biologically active compounds. The approach via low-molecular inhibitors/activators is in many respects an attractive strategy since

  • intra- and intercellular targets can be addressed in vitro and in vivo
  • a single chemical probe allows for the synergistic modulation of a biological system via multiple targets
  • single functions of multi-functional proteins can be selectively modulated.

On May 10th, 2005 the Society for Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology (DECHEMA e.V.), the German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG e.V.), the Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (GBM e.V.), and the German Chemical Society (GDCh e.V.) founded the Joint Working Group Chemical Biology.

The Joint Working Group organises

  • Conferences (e.g. the annual 'Status Seminar Chemical Biology')
  • Workshops (e.g. cheminformatics, data base usage, logistics of compound libraries)
  • Courses (e.g. assay development, hit evaluation, substrate management)
  • Information sessions and networking opportunities

Central objective of the working group is the support of the German ChemBioNet. It also supports efforts to initiate national and European interdisciplinary networks and research programmes in Chemical Biology.

Nine colleagues are serving on the board 2018-2021:

PD Dr. Henrik Daub (evotec, Munich)
Prof. Dr. Christian Hackenberger (FMP Berlin)
Prof. Dr. Carsten Hopf (HS Mannheim)
Prof. Dr. Anna Kathrin Hirsch (HIPS Saarbrücken)
Prof. Dr. Maja Köhn (University of Freiburg)
Prof. Dr. Andreas Marx (University of Konstanz)
Dr. Andreas Marzinzik (Novartis, Basel)
Dr. Pierre Stallforth (Leibniz-Institut für Naturstoff-Forschung und Infektionsbiologie e. V., Hans-Knöll-Institut, HKI, Jena)
Prof. Dr. Roderich Süßmuth (TU Berlin) 

They represent biology, chemistry and pharmacology and are delegates of the four societies.

Members of the societies can join the Joint Working Group Chemical Biology without additional fees. Please download the application form (in German)




Prof. Dr. Hans-Dieter Arndt
Institut für Organische und
Makromolekulare Chemie
Lehrstuhl Organische Chemie I
Humboldtstr. 10
07743 Jena
TEL: 03641/948 210

Vice Chairs
Prof. Dr. Jutta Eichler
Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Chemie und Pharmazie
Schuhstr. 19
91052 Erlangen
TEL: 09131/85 24117

Prof. Dr. Shirley Knauer
Universität Duisburg-Essen
Fakultät Biologie/ZMB
Molekularbiologie II
Geb. S05 V04, Raum F17
Universitätsstraße 5
45141 Essen
TEL: 0201/183 49 87

Contact at DECHEMA
Dr. Karsten Schürrle
Tel: 069 7564-162

Become a member