In order to optimize our website and improve it continuously, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Further information on cookies can be found in our privacy policy.


Press release ¤ Information de presse

Nov 25, 2008

Call for Nominations for the Alwin Mittasch Prize 2009

DECHEMA Society for Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology e.V., Frankfurt am Main, Germany, is pleased to request nominations for the Alwin Mittasch Prize 2009. This international prize is awarded for outstanding work that has contributed towards extending the fundamentals of catalysis and its exemplary application in industry. The award originated as the Alwin Mittasch Medal for catalysis research in Europe founded by BASF AG in 1990. The prize, which is no longer confined to Europe, comprises a gold medal, a certificate, and € 10.000 cash award. It is sponsored by BASF SE and is awarded every three years. The prize-winner is selected by an expert panel with members from both academia and industry.

Nominations should be accompanied by a detailed justification of the proposal and should be submitted no later than February 28, 2009 together with a curriculum vitae and a list of the nominee’s publications and patents to:

Attn. Prof. Dr. Gerhard Kreysa
P.O. Box 15 01 04
60061 Frankfurt am Main

Selected reprints of relevant publications in reputed international scientific journals may be attached. Self-nominations are not possible. The prize will be awarded at a public ceremony.

Previous winners of the Alwin Mittasch Medal are Prof. Dr. G. Ertl, Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin, Germany (1990), Prof. Dr. Jerzy Haber, Institute of Catalysis and Surface Chemistry, University of Krakow, Poland (1992), Prof. Dr. phil. Hans-Herbert Brintzinger, University of Konstanz, Germany (1995), Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Walter Kaminsky, University of Hamburg, Germany (1995) and Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. Ing. Senator a.D. Hansjörg Sinn, Hamburg, Germany (1995), Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wilhelm Keim, RWTH Aachen, Germany (1998) and Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Helmut Knözinger, University of Munich, Germany (1998), Prof. Dr. Rutger Anthony van Santen, Technical University of Eindhoven, The Netherlands (2001). The new Alwin Mittasch Prize was conferred in 2006 to Prof. Dr. Avelino Corma, Universidad de Valencia, Spain.

back to overview

© DECHEMA e.V. 1995-2019, Last update 25.07.2019

Theodor-Heuss-Allee 25
60486 Frankfurt
Telefon (069) 7564-0
Telefax (069) 7564-201

Dr. Kathrin Ruebberdt
Tel. +49 (0) 69 / 75 64 - 2 77
Fax +49 (0) 69 / 75 64 - 2 72
Become a member