Press release ¤ Information de presse

Jul 13, 2009

Invitation for nominations for the Otto Roelen Medal 2010

In 2010 DECHEMA will award the sixth Otto Roelen Medal in acknowledgement of an outstanding scientific achievement in the field of catalysis. Named after the discoverer of hydroformylation Otto Roelen (1897-1993), this prize was initiated by Hoechst AG in 1997 and has since been awarded for outstanding achievements in the field of homogeneous catalysis.

Now the Otto Roelen Medal is endowed by The Oxea Group. In 2010, for the first time nominations are invited internationally and for work in the whole field of catalysis research. Priority will be given to application-oriented research.
The Medal is endowed with € 5,000.

Proposals for nominations for the Otto Roelen Medal should be submitted by 1 November 2009 to:

Attn. Dr. Kurt Wagemann
Postfach 15 01 04
60061 Frankfurt am Main.

The decision on nominations is made by the Expert Committee of the Otto Roelen Medal. Proposals should be accompanied by a detailed justification, the curriculum vitae of the nominee and a list of publications and patents. Selected reprints of relevant publications in recognized international scientific journals may also be included. Self-nominations are not possible. The Medal will be awarded at a public ceremony.

The first Otto Roelen Medal was awarded in 1997 to Prof. Dr. Matthias Beller, Institut für Organische Katalyseforschung, Universität Rostock e.V. Other award-winners of the Otto Roelen Medal were Dr. Richard W. Fischer, Celanese Deutschland GmbH, and Dr. Fritz Kühn, TU München (1999), PD Dr. Walter Leitner, MPI für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim (2001), PD Dr. Stefan Mecking, Universität Freiburg (2003) and Prof. Dr. Kay Severin, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (2005).

back to overview

© DECHEMA e.V. 1995-2021, Last update 25.07.2019

Theodor-Heuss-Allee 25
60486 Frankfurt
Telefon (069) 7564-0
Telefax (069) 7564-201

Simone Angster
Tel. +49 (0) 69 / 75 64 - 540
Become a member