DECHEMA Industrial Bioprocess Award

DECHEMA Industrial Bioprocess Award

Young scientists who have made industrially significant contributions to bioprocess engineering during their PhD thesis are invited to apply for the DECHEMA Industrial Bioprocess Award.

The deadline for applications for 2024 is February 15th, 2024.

The prize, which will be offered for the seventh time, comes with up to 5,000 € prize money. It is financially supported by the industrial members of the DECHEMA working party "Bioprocess Engineering". The successful candidate will be awarded with the prize at the "Himmelfahrtstagung 2024"  in Regensburg and is invited to give a presentation there.

The thesis should have been completed between December 2022 and December 2023 (the date of the thesis presentation matters here). 

To apply please submit:

  • Comprehensive summary
  • PhD thesis - full version
  • Curriculum Vitae

Applicants are requested to submit a comprehensive summary of their work (up to 4 pages). The key topic should be clearly visible, and the target, motivation, systematic approach and results should be addressed and illustrated. For that, feel free to include figures and tables. Please also include the thesis grade in your documents.

Based on this summary, a pre-selection of candidates will be made. The award committee will then review the full version of the PhD thesis and select a winner. Please also submit a current Curriculum Vitae with your application.

You can submit your documents between 1 June and 15 February here

DECHEMA working party “Bioprocess Engineering” focuses on the biotechnical production of fine and bulk chemicals as well as biopharmaceuticals with the help of enzymes, prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells. The topics cover the entire spectrum of modern bioprocess engineering: from genes to products; from µL to production scale; from upstream to downstream.

We thank the industrial members of the DECHEMA working party "Bioprocess Engineering":


Previous winners of the DECHEMA Industrial Bioprocess Award:


2023 Martin Ziegler, University of Stuttgart/D
2022 Marcel Mann, RWTH Aachen/D

Maike Kuschel, University of Stuttgart/D


Hans-Jürgen Heidebrecht, Technical University of Munich/D


Theo Peschke, Novartis AG, Basel/CH


Cees Haringa, Delft University of Technology/NL






Become a member