In order to optimize our website and improve it continuously, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Further information on cookies can be found in our privacy policy.

Roll of Honour

Honorary Membership of DECHEMA

Honorary Membership is the highest award of the DECHEMA. The Board of Directors can grant Honorary Membership to outstanding supporters of chemical Equipment manufacture, chemical engineering and biotechnology or ot the society itself.

read more


The DECHEMA Prize is awarded in recognition of outstanding scientific achievements in DECHEMA’s sphere of interest which are of fundamental importance and serve as an impetus for innovative developments. Preference is given to the work of younger, early career scientists who, for instance, do not yet hold a permanent professorship or a comparable position in a research institution or industry. Originality of work and its contribution to scientific and technological progress are important assessment criteria. The work should preferably have been carried out at European universities, scientific research institutions or in industry.

read more

DECHEMA Student Awards

Die The DECHEMA student awards are granted anually to graduates in Technical Chemistry, Chemical Process Engineering and Biotechnology. Only graduates who distinguish themselves by completing their studies in a particular short time and achieving outstanding results are eligible. This award was established by the Board of DECHEMA in 1993 as a contribution towards increasing efficiency at German universities.

read more

DECHEMA Polytechnic Awards

The DECHEMA Polytechnic Awards are presented anually for the best diploma, master's and bachelor's theses in Technical Chemistry and Biotechnology at polytechnics and comprehensive universities.

read more


The DECHEMA-Medal is awarded for outstanding achievements in the field of chemical apparatus technology. It was established in 1951 to celebrate the 25th aniversary of the DECHMA.

read more

DECHEMA Plaque in Titanium

This plaque was first awarded during the 1999 DECHEMA Annual Meetings in Wiesbaden. It was initiated to honour outstanding commitment to the work of the research committees or to other DECHEMA activities and will be presented during the DECHEMA Annual Meetings.

read more

ACHEMA Plaque in Titanium

The ACHEMA Plaque in Titanium is awarded in recognition of distinguished services to ACHEMA and DECHEMA. The award was instituted to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the ACHEMA in 1970 and first Conferres at the ACHEMA 1973.

read more

ACHEMA Media Prize

The ACHEMA Media Prize is awarded every three years to the author of a German journalistic documentary on a topic from the fields of chemical engineering, biotechnology, chemistry or environmental protection. The selection criteria also include popular appeal and interesting presentation.

read more

Alwin Mittasch Prize

The Alwin Mittasch Prize was founded by BASF as the Alwin Mittasch Medal in 1990. It is awarded for work in the field of catalysis, concerning either advances in basic research or successful application in industry. Since 2006 it is awarded on an international level, now as the Alwin Mittasch Prize.

read more

Willy Hager Medal

Willy Hager Prize

The Willy Hager Prize was founded by the Willy Hager Foundation and is awarded every year jointly by DECHEMA and the Water Chemistry Division of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (German Chemical Society). The Prize is awarded for outstanding work in the field of water and waste water treatment by young university scientists.

read more

Hellmuth Fischer Medal

The DECHEMA awards the Hellmuth Fischer Medal preferably to younger scientists for work that has contributed towards extending or deepening the fundamentals of electrochemistry, corrosion or corrosion protection, or towards their industrial application.

read more

Otto Roelen Medal

In 2020, the 13th Otto Roelen Medal will be awarded for an outstanding achievement in catalysis research. DECHEMA and the German Catalysis Society (GeCatS) invite researchers and scientists to propose international candidates who have made significant contributions in this field, especially with regard to application-oriented research. The Otto Roelen Medal is endowed with 5,000 Euro and sponsored by the Oxea Group. Nominations will be evaluated by the Expert Committee of the Otto Roelen Medal. The prize will be awarded in a public ceremony at the Annual Meeting of German Catalysis Researchers in March 2020 in Weimar/Germany.

read more

Carl Hanson Medal

The Carl Hanson medal was jointly instituted in 1986 by the Society of Chemical Industry (UK) and DECHEMA in memory of Professor Carl Hanson, who was Professor of Chemical Engineering at Bradford University. The Medal is seen as a life-time award to recognize scientists and engineers working in the general field of solvent extraction science and technology. It's awarded at three year intervals.

read more


(Prize to promote up-and-coming teachers in higher education) The Prize for up-and-coming teachers in higher education is presented annually to scientists whose lectures at the Lecture Meeting fo Up-and-Coming Teachers in Higher Education have been specially commended.

read more

DECHEMA Industrial Bioprocess Award

Become a member